About me


My wife and I above the Saarschleife
My wife and I above the Saarschleife

Joe (aka MorphingSquid)

Birthday: 27.11
English

 

I like fishing in all it's various forms...

I grew up fishing the Warwickshire Avon, the Thames and the Cherwell as well as a few still waters around the country in search of ...  well just about anything that would bite really, but I suppose some highlights included Pike from the Thames, Perch from the Avon, Carp from a few pools, Trout from  Farmour Reservoir and Mackrel out of Padstow...

 

I moved to Germany in 2001 to find out that fishing was not so straight forward here!!  see the 'Taking the German License' page.

 

From 2005 to early 2008 I spent 3 years in the US where fly-fishing took on a whole new appeal, as visits to the Elkhorn in Kentucky produced awesome Smallmouth Bass on Crawfish flies and the streams of the Smokey Mountains produced wonderful scenery to seek Brown, Brook and Rainbow Trout...  times I will never forget.

 

My wife and I have now returned to Germany where we are working through the necessary steps to get a license.  I hope to use this site to document fishing experiences from this point forward and probably collect interesting and usefull information - let's see how it develops...


Favourite leisure activity:
Fishing, looking after my Reef Tank and playing XBOX 360 or PS3


Favourite Film:
BeerFest


Favourite books:
The Reef Aquarium - Julian Sprung

Vol.s 1 & 3 (2 is good for completeness, but 1 & 3 are just excellent!)


Favourite music:
Really depends upon my mood...  from funky house to Country!


Favourite drink:
Hefew
eizen


Favourite country for traveling:
Brad Paisley :-)


Favourite quotes:
"I Like to party"
- JJ -